NickServ
SET KILL




This setting allows you to prevent unauthorized users from using your nickname. When someone connects using your nickname, NickServ will look through the access list looking for a matching address. If one is not found, NickServ will ask the user for a password. If the correct password is not supplied within 60 seconds, NickServ will change that person's nickname to a 'Guest' nickname. Literally, they will be called something such as Guest768543, Guest55998, and so on.


To enable KILL protection you type:

/NickServ SET KILL ON

Similarly to disable it you type:

/NickServ SET KILL OFF

The KILL switch can help you make your nickname very secure. It is a smart idea to turn it on when registering a new nick, and also enabling it for all your existing nicknames.




 NickServ homepage   Services    Home